End of Summer

We’ve had a couple of refreshing, cool days. And last Saturday we sat outside with friends and even started to shiver in the dark.
So I think it is the official end of summer.end of summer

Summers used to be so memorable. I have journals full of posts titled Summer of ______, back when I thought I’d be able to pick out a single summer from my youth. But they all run together.

And yet, I still experience the drive to create a memorable summer.

Summer of 2014

  • I had some fulfilling and rejuvenating friendship time this summer. I used to be a terrible friend, burdened by trying to connect and show my feelings.  But I finally feel like some of that wall is lifting and I can tell my friends how much I love them.
    • Saw Jeni and fam twice this summer. Rolled Logan into baked goods, biscuits or cinnamon rolls I forget, and bounced on the air mattress with Oli.
    • Brianne came to Houston, we talked until we were hoarse, and ate nothing but Mexican food all weekend. Woman after my own heart. I think it had been near 7 years since we’ve seen each other, but falling asleep next to her was like being 19 and in The Corner all over again.
    • Lunches and fundraisers and frapps with Mel. When I think about this year and our friendship, I picture Forest and Bubba “I’ll lean against you and you lean against me, that way we don’t have to sleep with our heads in the mud.” We’ve leaned a lot this year.
  • In May, Mom and I took care of the 3 kids. I crawled under bushes for hide&go seek, taught the twins how to explore Grammy’s yard, forced BL to watch Seven Brides for Seven Brothers. I left with bruised legs and skinned knees and 2 nephew and 1 niece sized holes in my life.
  • In June we grew our family by one. Although I was very nervous about it, Wheels just fits right in. And I have to say that everyone, EVERYONE loves her name. It is so her.
  • The kids and L&M came down in June.  This year, not working a traditional job allowed me to drive BL around in the cozy coupe for hours straight and help mom with dinners. I’ll be honest, there was zip (0) twin time on this trip, Lego Star Wars on the Wii dwarfed my presence.

“Boys, do you want some snack?….Brody?…Dyan?…… Can you guys hear me?”
I could only get a response standing in between the game and a boy. ‘It’ has started.

  • And I grew a dream, not just in my heart but this time I could touch it. I found the perfect land complete with a clump of trees and drove up and got out of the car and walked it, listened to the gravel crunch underfoot.
    The olive ranch is real, and I’d do just about anything to get it.

So much good this summer, and so much time to enjoy it.
Plus, lots of exciting things ahead, bucket lists and projects. And another big life change for us. (not pregnant)

Looking back and looking forward
I see goodness
and I’m thankful that goodness is clear to me.

Leave a comment